Lesa Lafferty
pHigh School Resourcepa

b

Educational Background:

 

I am a graduate of the Dexter Public School District, class of 1983. I postponed college for three years then decided to begin at Three Rivers Community College, where I received my associates' degree. I then transferred to Arkansas State University and graduated in August 1991 with a Bachelor of Science Degree in Elementary/Special Education. I completed my Master's Degree in Special Education 4-6 from Arkansas State University in December 2011.
 

Teaching Experience:

 

I began as a paraprofessional in the Dexter Public School District.  I began with my own classroom at Charleston Jr. High School in Charleston, Missouri.  There I taught fifth, sixth, and seventh grade special education for two years.  I then went to Twin Rivers Public School District teaching K-4, then K-5, 6, 8; when needed. I also had various other duties throughout my nine years there. I sometimes rode bus routes for the safety of students. I was the main supervisor of the After School Childcare Program for the two years we had it. In August 2007, I found my want to the Leopold R-III School District. This is my tenth year here at Leopold and my twentieth year of teaching. I can say it has been a blessing to be here.
 

Plans for this year:

  

My plan for this year is like any other. I want to assist my students in preparing for their post-secondary transition. Whether they continue their education or enter into the workforce, I want them to know that they are prepared. I want them to know that no matter what they encounter, I'm here to assist them even after they are gone.  
 
Family:

 

My parents are Dale and Doris Ellis. My father passed away in April 2014. I come from a close family that consisted of four children. My eldest sister and family live about six blocks from us. My younger brother and family lives about six blocks in the other direction. My youngest sister, twin to my brother, passed away six days after giving birth to her only child, a daughter. I now have three nieces and three nephews, along with two great nephews and two great nieces. On Ocotber 4, 2005, I was blessed with the most amazing son a parent could wish for.
 
Other Interests/Hobbies:

 

My biggest hobby is spending time with my family.  I love farm animals, especially pigs and horses. I love going to rodeos, concerts, and photography, which I'm not the greatest at.
 

Memorable Events:

 

The greatest event in my life is the birth of my son, Houston.  Second would have to be the birth of my nieces, nephews, great nephews, and great nieces. Finally, I would have to say the year I went to Washington, D.C. with my younger sister and brother-in-law. I was able to visit many sites there but the most important one to me was the National Law Enforcement Memorial. Some of the other highlights were the capital and Arlington National Cemetery.
 
 
 
 
 
Updated:  Friday, March 11, 2016